Delicious grilled cheese ravioli

grilled cheese ravioliThis recipe merely requires anything except for an appetite and the desire to try something different.

When I’m looking for creativity I usually turn to my oven. I grill almost anything, many times after its been cooked and I want to add some crunch to it. When I prepared this dish I was ready with all the ingredients for the tomato sauce, but while the ravioli was on its way to redemption, I returned the tomatoes and herbs to the refrigerator and turn my oven on. I strained the ravioli, lightly showered it with good quality olive oil and hit the oven/grill.
Surprisingly, my husband who’s not a big fan of ravioli loved it grilled.
Tomato and ravioli always go together and the color combination is striking when at least one of them is fresh. I chose the tomato.

grilled cheese ravioliHome made ravioli is best. It fills your mouth with big flavor and freshness. A dish that’s a bit different from the usual but the results speak for themselves:

shall we:

1 package of home-made cheese ravioli – I buy mine from a bakery that actually make the ravioli on the premises and package it ready to go . If you can’t find home-made ravioli near you, a store-bought will do fine.
1 medium sliced tomato
salt and black pepper
a couple of tbsp good quality olive oil
water for boiling the ravioli

Preparation: boil water in a large pot, add one tbsp of salt. When water is boiled add ravioli. I put about 15 pieces of large square ravioli and boiled it for 10 min. Store bought ravioli – follow package instructions. Strain ravioli, lay aluminum foil on a baking sheet and lay the cheese ravioli on top. Sprinkle a few tbsp of olive oil making sure all is coated, turn over gently but be careful – ravioli still hot. Insert baking sheet into broiler, 400º for about 3-4 min., or until ravioli turns light-medium brown and sizzles.

Carefully remove ravioli from the oven and transfer it to a beautiful large dish. Arrange sliced tomato on top of ravioli, sprinkle with black pepper. Done.

tips: For a creamy texture add grated fresh mozzarella cheese.

It’s best to use large pieces of ravioli. Not only that it looks better served but holds better while grilled.

Eat. Bonn apetite.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a word or two

