When heaven comes to earth breakfast

And i mean it.

Fluffy yogurt with roasted nuts mix

If you love nuts you are gonna go nuts for this:

heaven yogurt nuts mix for breakfast

honey nuts yogurt for breakfast

Look at this thing. Don’t you want to eat it? It taste so good, so light, so…give me more! I guarantee you’d want more.

Easy to prepare if you have all the ingredients handy. I always do simply because we are nuts about…nuts, so I stack. It’s a delicious breakfast, snack or dessert, or if you want to surprise your friends for an afternoon chat and they are coming over – this is it.

When I made this breakfast a couple of days ago I called my husband’s to taste it. He saw me coming with this pretty white porcelain dish filled with heaven, but told me to go because he was on the phone. I turned around, went upstairs to my office and got ready to gobble this thing, because the aroma simply drove me crazy.

picture of dry nuts for breakfast

A few seconds later I heard footsteps rushing to my office. He stood there starring at my bowl, “what is this? can I taste?” he didn’t even finish his sentence, he took my breakfast away and spoon by spoon…the noises he made, the joy I saw in his eyes, the surprised in his face. He was sold.

So let’s cook shall we?

Ingredients:
one half cup pecans
one half cup hazel nuts
one half cup pine nuts
one half cup honey (mine was flavored with ginger. If you can find – better).
5 crushed cardamon seed vessels
(it’s pods – just fooling with words here)
4 cloves (did I actually count them? no)
juice of one orange
 low-fat plain yogurt (Greek yogurt? I find it too rich for this dish).

cooking nuts with honey for breakfastpreparation: If you would like you may crush the nuts lightly before roasting. In a broiler 400º roast the nuts to light brown. Don’t let it burn. You can also roast them in the same pot on medium heat, where you are about to cook the sauce. Set roasted nuts aside. In a medium heavy pot place the honey, lemon juice, cardamom and cloves. When you see little bubbles forming add the nuts.

Let cook for about a min or two on a medium-low heat, making sure there is still liquid left. Turn off and set aside to cool down. I like to serve it while it’s still warm. The aroma is going to drive you’re nose crazy but be patient and don’t touch it. In the meantime, with a fork quick whip up the yogurt. Blender you’re asking? No, because it will make the yogurt too runny. You want the consistency a little more liquifyed than it is. Take a pretty small cereal bowl or a tea-cup (like I did if you want to impress even yourself), fill it up with yogurt and with a spoon, slowly, top it with a couple of spoons of the nuts mixture.

heaven yogurt for breakfastNow fill your spoon with heaven and get to business.

Eat. Bon Apetite.

tip: if you have company double the recipe and so on.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a word or two

