Lemon Mousse she made in no time

lemon mousse she madeLast week we had friends over for an intimate dinner in which I prepared a scrumptious Moroccan meal they loved, loaded with flavors and colors. On the look out for a dessert I wanted to surprise my guests just a bit and offer something opposite to my Moroccan tradition. I wanted something light, fluffy, dairy free and lemony.

Bouncing ideas with my sister over the phone and a little Google research the word lemony kept repeating in my head and I’ve decided – Lemon Mousse – something I had never done before let alone eaten before. I was willing to take the risk not because it’s hard (so easy it’s ridiculous), but because it’s different and I’m always inspired by these glamorous mini French desserts and how they are served, that I was already armed with an idea for the presentation.

I’m not a double-boiler kind of girl (simply for the lack of patience) but this recipe which I find it light and quick, requires it so I decided to ignore the “inconvenience”. I’m glad I did.

lemon mousse she madeI was surprised to find that the citrusy flavor didn’t take over at all and it was absolutely a delight to eat.

Shall we:

ingredients:

3/4 c. white granulated sugar
1/2 c. fresh lemon juice
2 tbsp lemon zest
4 eggs at room temperature
pinch kosher salt
fresh red raspberries for garnish

preparations:

In a double-boiler of simmering water over medium heat combine all the ingredients except for the raspberries. Whisk it all up. Do not stop whisking or you will end up with scrambled eggs in no time. Keep whisking (about five minutes? or more), and you will witness the magic process of how the mixture thickens and becomes smooth and and frothy almost like a high-end facial cream. To test: if the mixture coats the back of a spoon – it’s done. Remove from heat and gently pour the hot mixture through a strainer into a clean bowl to get rid of bits and pieces. Yes, you should notice the lemony aroma happening.

Arrange mini cups (glass cups are best so you can see through them) and pour into them the fluffy mousse you just made. Refrigerate for a couple of hours.

Before serving garnish each cup with fresh raspberries for added color and texture. You’d be surprised and your guests too, how airy and shockingly delicious this dessert feels and tastes.

Bon appetite

2 thoughts on “Lemon Mousse she made in no time

Thank you for taking the time to leave a word or two

