Perfect pears baked with rosemary sprig in white balsamic reduction

baked pears with rosemary and white balsamic reduction

Believe me when I say that I will bath myself in a rosemary water-bath, covered with real rosemary sprigs until my nose can no longer function. There is nothing more sensual and aromatic than having rosemary (sprig or anything that smells like one), laid around the house somewhere. I have one in my linen spray bottle, in my olive oil, oil message bottles, my aroma therapy plug-ins, laundry room, drawer liners, shoe closet…you get the idea. And no, it doesn’t overpower. It’s a beautiful herb, relaxing and oh so calming…

A bit of history – remember my Perfect pear recipe I posted a while back? it’s one of our favorite dessert and I make it quite often, but lately I’ve experimented with pears and came up with another delicious and simple to make recipe you are going to love (i hope). So the story goes that Friday  was a beautiful sunny day. But everything else was a big mess in my house. Pieces of bricks laid around the first floor, a heavy reminder that my mini project remodel is became super mini. Living room walls peeled off of an expensive wallpaper only to have them finished with yet another expensive look. My dusty new furniture covered with a cheap dustier plastic sheet, walls poked with large holes a reminiscent of where the T.V. used to hang and where a new one is going to be. It felt half depressing (the other half kept whispering in my ears to stay calm, this too shall be over soon.) I wanted to leave everything and get a hotel room. But then, when i turned around and looked into my messy kitchen the thought of baking something sweet, even in a middle of a mess, comforted me. So I made it. The house smelled amazing. The first bite of a warm sweet fruit made me forget what i had felt before. The closer the following bites got to my lips and right under my nose, the more I fell in love with life’s simple luxuries, even in a middle of a chaos. Chaos that inspired me to create and bring a moment of joy not only to myself but to my family that night.

You don’t have to have a reason to feel that sweet sense of comfort. Feeling down or up and want to make someone else happy too? treat that person or yourself to this beautiful heart warming dessert. My mom’s motto is that good food solves many of life’s issues. I believe her. After all, with such a vast life experience like she has – who am I to argue.

pears baked in white balsamic reduction

baked pears with rosemary and white balsamic reduction

If you love pears and I’m hoping that you do, then this is one of the best perfect pears recipe you will ever make. And if you love the beautiful aroma of a simple rosemary sprig and how it can enhance this dish in contrast to the sweetness of the sugar and the white balsamic syrup – I salute you.

it’s super easy….super comfort….few ingredients you can customize to your liking…super flavorful and beautiful………you don’t need another reason do you?

baked pears with white balsamic reduction

delicious baked pears in white balsamic reductionHow did rosemary sprig fit in the picture? just before baking the pears i popped my head in the fridge looking for something interesting to add. I found a couple of rosemary sprigs i almost forgot about and threw one in. It became the star.

I served the pears warm with vanilla ice-cream and here is what I heard them saying: “…mmm what is it?…wow, oh…this is so good what did you say it was again?…oh man this is delicious i don’t care what you put in it… oh Sigal it’s delicious what’s that name again…it has this…what’s in there?…” – I told you – rosemary.

Ingredients:

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

5 nicely ripe pears, peeled and cored
1/4 c. dark brown sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
5 cardamom cloves
1 rosemary sprig
**1/2 c. white balsamic reduction (see recipe)
juice of one lemon

for the balsamic reduction:
1 part water
1 part white balsamic vinegar
1 tbsp white sugar
** i use 1 cup ratio of water and vinegar

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Preheat oven to 350. Cut pears in half and place in a large bowl with lemon juice. Set aside.
Prepare the white balsamic reduction – this is the moment when you need to watch the syrup with both eyes (yes both), because it cooks quickly: in a medium sauce pan on medium heat combine water, white balsamic and white sugar. Just when starting to boil reduce heat to medium/low, gently stir and simmer uncovered until syrup becomes thick and about 75% of the vinegar is evaporated. You are your best judge so keep a watchful eye, it will tell you when the syrup is ready. Remove from heat and allow to cool.

In a medium baking dish (i prefer to use glass) arrange the pears cut side down. Pour the balsamic syrup over the pears and sprinkle the brown sugar and cinnamon. Tuck the rosemary sprig between the pears and throw in the cardamon cloves. Give a gentle shake, cover with foil and bake about 35 minutes.Make sure there is still liquid left when done. Optional: While baking I uncovered the pan and with a large spoon drizzled some of the syrup from the pan on the pears. Covered and baked until it was ready.

perfect baked pears with rosemary and balsamic reduction

It was a mind-blowing flavorful experience honestly…but that didn’t stop me from taking a hotel room that night 😉

bon appetit

2 thoughts on “Perfect pears baked with rosemary sprig in white balsamic reduction

Thank you for taking the time to leave a word or two

