Heavenly French Custard Cakes

Hello friends,

Have you ever had a dessert that calls your name? yeah, there’s such thing I tell you…a dessert that’s perfect in every way that makes you wanna have seconds forever?…a dessert that’s creamy and perfumed with a fusion of vanilla bean and rum,  so velvety and airy that with every spoonful you wish to scream your own name?

I have many reasons to love this *heart braking* dessert but I think I made my point. French Berries Custard not only calls my name but knows my last name too.

delicious french berry custard cakes

Allow moi: My cousin who’s a cook genius (who learned from her mother who’s also a cook genius), taught me a little about her baked desserts every time I travel across the ocean to visit her. She bakes a lot and she gave me this recipe which I tweaked to my liking. But you see, sometimes I’m envious of my cousin for two reasons: she lives in Paris (that’s major) AND she has spare time to bake. a lot. Of course I want to live in Paris, who doesn’t? those who don’t are not my friends 😉

delicious french berry custard cakes

Back to baking, when I made the dessert something went terribly wrong which turned out a happy accident at the end: Normally this dessert comes with burnt sugar on top but here is the thing, remember the story about my Ex-kitchen? part of the renovation chaos was that when I prepared the custard and sprinkled raw sugar on top, put it under the broiler to give the sugar a glow, turned it on and waited…and waited. I thought my oven was slow…guess what? It was dead. The cakes just sat there, bored. I delayed dessert time (sorry dear family) and put the custards back in the refrigerator until I figure things out. No I wasn’t going to buy a torch.

french delicious berry custard cakes

The next early morning I made coffee and checked on my custards. I took one out, the sparkly raw sugar seemed to glow in the morning sun, beautiful to look at and I thought whatever. I took the first spoonful. All I heard was the chilled raw sugar crystals crackle in my mouth and my throat groan. Another spoonful…in no time I gave up my coffee and had a second custard (I only made five). I was aiming on the third one (calories shmalories, I said it was good not fat free), but then I heard my husband’s foot steps. Lucky him, because if I didn’t he would have nothing left. I told you this dessert calls my name.

delicious french berry custard cakes

Ingredients:

1 c. fresh mix of blueberries and blackberries
4 ego yolks
3 tbsp white sugar
1 vanilla bean
1 tbsp rum extract
1 1/2 c. heavy cream
raw sugar for garnish

Store the raw sugar in the coldest part of your refrigerator until ready to use. Preheat oven to 325. Put six oven proof small ramekins in a large roasting pan and fill each button with berries.
Make a slit in center of the vanilla bean and with a spoon scrape the inside. Mix it with the rum, set a side. In a small bowl combine yolks, white sugar and vanilla-rum mixture. Mix well until creamy, set aside. In a small sauce pan pour the heavy cream and bring to a boil. Remove from heat and slowly add the cream to the yolk mixture, continue whisking until smooth. If the mixture is not smooth strain it through a strainer.
Divide the cream among the ramekins. Pour warm water into the roasting pan about half way up. Bake between 15-20 minutes or until the custard is set. Let cool for 10 minutes then remove dishes from the pan into the refrigerator to cool for at least 3 hours.
To serve, sprinkle an even layer of chilled raw sugar over the custards. Pretty spoons to go with, nice music in the background and you and your guests are ready to indulge into one of those unforgettable mmm moments. Bon-Appetite.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a word or two

