Midnight Roasted Red Grapes – a recipe

Ever wondered, like me, what’s the story behind Kahlúa liquor, I often use in my recipes?

For you I’ve gathered some facts from different websites:

“coffee-flavored rum-based liqueur from Mexico. The drink also has sugar, corn syrup and vanilla bean” source.

“First produced in 1936 by Veracruz, Mexico native Pedro Domeca” (source)

“It takes 7 years to create each bottle of Kalúa, from harvest of the coffee beans, vanilla, and sugar cane to bottle”.

“Coffee liquor with a cool twist” (now that’s my definition).

Now that we know what Kahlua is, let’s move on shall we.

In case you wonder, the name of this recipe – Midnight Roasted Red Grapes – is because I roasted the grapes around midnight, after I realized that taking pain-killer for my headache isn’t worth it, especially if contains chemicals. A bottle of water helped just a bit so I got up, went into my newly renovated kitchen (I love going into my new kitchen in the middle of the night. Hard to explain), I opened the fridge and found a bunch of fresh red grapes. Initially I wanted to bake cookies but didn’t want to make a mess when having a headache. I stared at the grapes, then at the oven, looked at the grapes again, then the oven – bam! bake them.

midnight roasted red grapes recipe

Herbal tea was well on its way while I gathered my simple almost every day ingredients – grapes and sugar. Roasting fruits is my latest FoodFashion. The flavor of the fruit enhanced so much more, the texture gets a beautiful rustic elegance, the color deepens and the recipe is not an everyday thing one would do in a kitchen, enhances the experience. And don’t make me start on the aroma…

midnight roasted red grapes

midnight roasted red grapes

Ingredients:

2-3 cups of red fresh grapes (want white? use it)

1 tbsp light brown sugar

pinch of kosher salt

1/4 c. Kahlua liquor

*  *  *

Preheat oven to 425°F. In a large bowl mix ingredients except for the salt, until well combined. Line baking sheet with aluminum foil and arrange marinated grapes. Sprinkle with kosher salt. Roast grapes between 15-20 minutes, when skin is lightly crisp and soft and grapes are dark and juicy. Carefully remove pan from oven. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Serving suggestions:

Top it with my No bake cheese cake

Add to my low-fat yogurt breakfast

Delicious snack on its own

Addition to fresh fruit salad

Arranged on skewers for a pretty presentation and serve with goat cheese

Or do what I did: couldn’t keep my hands off of them and ate them right off the pan. Careful, it’s hot.

Ideas are endless.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a word or two

